Want to add your own listing?  fill out this form.

Loading Events

« All Events

America/Beautiful: Min Kwon, In the Catacombs

July 8 @ 6:30 pm - 9:00 pm CDT

|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on July 8, 2021 at 6:30 pm

One event on July 9, 2021 at 6:30 pm

One event on July 9, 2021 at 6:30 pm

Last year, as America reckoned with the pandemic, racial protests, and political upheaval, pianist Min Kwon looked at her two daughters — whose birthdays fall on Presidents’ Day and the Fourth of July — and asked herself what kind of a country they would grow up in. Out of that reflection came America/Beautiful, a project where she commissioned more than seventy of the leading composers in the United States to each write a variation on America the Beautiful.

The result is a sonic picture of Kwon’s adopted country, painted in all of its sprawling complexity, which ultimately seeks to find the beauty at the heart of the American experiment, and to realize its credo of e pluribus unum (out of many, one).

Dates & Times:

  • Thursday, July 8, 2021 at 5 PM CT | 6 PM ET, 6:30 PM CT | 7:30 PM ET
  • Friday, July 9, 2021 at 5 PM CT | 6 PM ET, 6:30 PM CT | 7:30 PM ET

July 8 features variations by: Bruce Adolphe, Leila Adu-Gilmore, Andrew Bambridge, Victoria Bond, Charles Coleman, Huang Ruo, David Serkin Ludwig, Jessica Meyer, Patricio Molina, John Musto, Qasim Naqvi, Greg Sandow, Juri Seo, Chris Trapani, Trevor Weston, and Wang Jie

July 9 features variations by: Timo Andres, Sebastian Currier, Tyson Davis, Fred Hersch, Vijay Iyer, Tania León, George Lewis, Miya Masaoka, Paul Moravec, Nico Muhly, Paola Prestini, Gity Razaz (a JFund recipient), Robert Sirota, and Melinda Wagner

Learn more and get tickets here.