Want to add your own listing?  fill out this form.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Candace Johnson’s Musical Series: The Art Songs of Black Composers

May 22 @ 9:30 pm - 10:30 pm CDT

|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on May 23, 2021 at 7:00 pm

In her new solo performance musical series, soprano and actress Candace Johnson shines a light on the art songs and lives of Black American composers. Much of the African American art song literature is not widely heard, though it has been a part of the classical music canon since the late 19th century. Through song and theatrical storytelling, Candace puts the life and music of Black composers on display.

The first installment, “Music to My Ears – Hearing Adolphus Hailstork” centers on the song cycle Ventriloquist Acts of God. As the songs are unpacked in a university music class, a professor and her students discuss how to hear the music – and each other – in a whole new way.

Date & Time: Saturday May 22, 2021 at 9:30 PM CT 7:30 PM PT and Sunday May 23, 2021 at 7 PM CT | 5 PM  PT

Act I: Music to My Ears – Hearing by Adolphus Hailstork (a BandQuest composer) with Marc Shapiro, piano

A new solo performance musical series that shines a light on the art songs and lives of Black Composers

Immediately followed by a Q&A with
Founder/Artistic Director Stephanie Weisman

Find links to watch the live video here.