Want to add your own listing?  fill out this form.

Loading Events

« All Events

From Silenced to Singing

January 28, 2022 @ 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm CST

|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on January 29, 2022 at 8:30 pm

One event on January 30, 2022 at 4:00 pm

The program includes the rescheduled and highly anticipated world premiere of Jocelyn Hagen’s (a McKnight fellow) work celebrating women’s voices and written in commemoration of the centenary of women’s suffrage.

Featuring illuminated portraits and the words of 47 different women from around the world and across time, this work tells the story of the importance of finding—and using—your voice.

The concert includes music by and inspired by African Americans and Native Americans, reflecting the diverse voices that make up the cultural mosaic that is the United States. This program also premieres the winning work of the 5th annual Stephen Paulus Emerging Composers Competition.

Date & Time:

  • Friday, January 28, 2022 at 8 PM CT | 7 PM MT
  • Saturday, January 29, 2022 8:30 PM CT | 7:30 PM MT
  • Sunday, January 30, 2022 at 4 PM CT | 3 PM MT

Learn more here.

Details

Date:
January 28, 2022
Time:
8:00 pm - 9:00 pm
CST
Event Category:
Event Tags:
,
https://www.trueconcord.org/performances/2021-22-from-silenced-to-singing/