Want to add your own listing?  fill out this form.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Glorious Mendelssohn & Strauss

January 23 @ 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm CST

|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on January 24, 2021 at 7:30 pm

On Saturday & Sunday, January 23 & 24, 2021 at 7:30pm CST, conductor Delta David Gier and the South Dakota Symphony Orchestra (Sioux Falls, SD) will perform the World Premiere of New York City-based composer Frank J. Oteri’s (former ACF Board member, Delta David Geier) Already Yesterday or Still Tomorrow, written in the last months of 2020.

The concerts will be presented to a limited in-person audience. The January 23rd concert will also be live-streamed on the South Dakota Symphony Orchestra’s Facebook page, as well as the South Dakota Public Broadcasting’s website at 5:30pm PST/7:30pm CST/8:30pm EST.

Already Yesterday or Still Tomorrow, an 11-minute work for full orchestra, ruminates on the catharsis and empathy needed surrounding loss. Oteri improvised music that would become part of this work on the piano the morning after his mother passed away from Covid-19 in early April 2020, completing the other sections and orchestrating it after months of quarantining at home in October 2020.

This World Premiere by the SDSO marks a rare opportunity for live orchestral music—and new music—over the past year.

Learn more on their website here.

Details

Date:
January 23
Time:
7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
CST
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, ,
View Event Website