Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

SongFest Composer mentorship Program

June 6 - June 11

|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on June 11, 2022 at 9:00 pm

One event on June 9, 2022 at 9:00 pm

Program Description: The SongFest 2022 Composer Mentorship program will be a focused week of study for five emerging female or female identifying composers on full scholarship nestled into our second week of programming for all students, focused on American song. Composers will be chosen through an application process to work with 6 celebrated senior composition faculty: John Harbison, John Musto, Libby Larsen (ACF’s co-founder and a BandQuest composer), Sheila Silver, Jake Heggie, David Conte in an intensive and open environment.

Date & Time: Monday, June 6, 2022 to Saturday, June 11, 2022 from 11 AM CT – 8 PM CT | 9 AM PST – 6 PM PST

Classes for the composers will comprise: masterclasses, individual lessons, lectures, Forums discussion on poetry and text setting, performance of their work, along with other opportunities to engage with SongFest faculty.

There will be 2 concerts on New American Song:

“Remembering Jame Primosch” – Thursday, June 9, 2022 at 9 PM CT | 7 PM PST 

“Celebrating New American Song Composers” – Saturday, June 11, 2022 at 9 PM CT | 7 PM PST

Learn more here.