Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

World Premiere of Anna Thorvaldsdottir’s CATAMORPHOSIS Performed by the Berlin Philharmonic, conducted by Kirill Petrenko

January 29 @ 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm CST

Live in the Digital Concert Hall – On Friday, January 29, 2021, at 1pm CST | 11am PT | 2pm ET | 8pm CET, the Berlin Philharmonic will perform the world premiere of Anna Thorvaldsdottir’s highly anticipated new orchestral work, CATAMORPHOSIS, conducted by Kirill Petrenko. A further testament to Thorvaldsdottir’s “confident and distinctive handling of the orchestra” (Gramophone) and the often “cosmic scale” (The New York Times) of her music, CATAMORPHOSIS is an imposing meditation on the fragile relationship we have to our planet. The title, in the composer’s own words, “refers both to the fact that if things do not change it is going to be too late, risking utter destruction – catastrophe – and to the way the core of the work is driven by the shift and pull between various polar forces – power and fragility, hope and despair, preservation and destruction.”

Full Program

Anna Thorvaldsdóttir: CATAMORPHOSIS (world premiere) – commissioned jointly by the Berliner Philharmoniker together with the Iceland Symphony Orchestra, the New York Philharmonic and the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra – supported by the Friends of the Berliner Philharmoniker e. V.

Sergei Prokofiev: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in D-flat Major, Op. 40 (featuring Daniil Trifonov, piano)

Josef Suk: Pohádka léta (A Summer’s Tale), Symphonic Poem, Op. 29

For more information about the performance, visit website.

Click here for more information about Anna Thorvaldsdottir.

Details

Date:
January 29
Time:
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm CST
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , ,
View Event Website