Sheree composes dense, colorful concert music for mixed chamber ensembles, string quartet, chamber orchestra, orchestra, voice and fixed electronic media. She has also created soundtracks for stop motion animation.


Sheree Clement's music has been featured in the Tanglewood Music Festival, and performed by Speculum Musicae, the Pro Arte Chamber Orchestra in Boston, the San Francisco Contemporary Music Players and the Canyonlands Ensemble in Salt Lake City, Utah and various groups in New York City.  She is the recipient of awards from ASCAP, the American Academy and Institute of Arts & Letters, Tanglewood Music Festival and the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation and grants from the American Music Center and Meet the Composer. Born in Baltimore, Maryland, she studied piano, music theory and composition as a young person at the Peabody Institute and the Junior Conservatory Camp. She completed her B. Mus and M Mus at the University of Michgian and her D.M.A. in Music Composition at Columbia University, where she studied with Mario Davidovsky. She currently lives in New York City.  Her recent opera, Swimming Upstream, was commission by the Association for the Promotion of New Music, with support from the Queens Council on the Arts, and premiered in NYC with Elizabeth Farnum, soprano, Ensemble Pi, and Carl Bettendorf, conductor.  Her music is available on CRI / New World and Albany Records.

Describe your music

Colorful, imaginative, surprising.

Interested in collaborating with

Musicians, singers, dancers, choreographers, videographers.

Additional info

Recent Works:

Swimming Upstream, chamber opera, 2018, Stories I Cannot Tell You, chamber orchestra, 2017, Objects Food Rooms, medium voice, bass clarinet, piano, 201/ 2019, Viola Trio, for viola, 'cello & piano (2011) Round Trip Ticket, for fl, cl, vln, vc, pno, 2 perc., 2007Twelve Piano Preludes, for solo piano, 2006Wherewith I Strive, for harp, flute and mezzo, 2000Chamber Concerto, for 18 players, 1984