Call for Scores!

Application deadline: April 30, 2020

No application fee

All submissions to be considered for Kaleidoscope’s 2020-2021 season and open access publishing with the UCLA Music Library

Open to solo, chamber, and orchestral works of any length and instrumentation

Composers are encouraged to submit up to 3 works written in the past 10 years

Composers of traditionally under-represented groups are strongly encouraged to apply

Open to composers of any age, residing in any country

Selected composers receive roundtrip air travel to Los Angeles, housing, 6 rehearsals, multiple performances, professional recordings, and consideration for future commissions


A new collaboration between the Kaleidoscope Chamber Orchestra and the UCLA Music Library, part of the UCLA Library system, will empower living composers by making their work more accessible and reducing barriers for applicants to Kaleidoscope’s 2020 Call for Scores.

Kaleidoscope’s annual Call for Scores was established in 2015 to recognize the most innovative and engaging music being written today. Selected composers will have their work performed on Kaleidoscope’s 2020-2021 season, including performances at UCLA.

The collaboration allows applicants to elect to have the UCLA Library publish their submitted compositions open access for future performance and study in conjunction with OpenUCLA, a Centennial Celebration initiative created to help remove barriers to research and scholarship.

Those looking for new works by living composers will have the ability to view the open access published scores online from anywhere in the world. (For example, see Awake 3.0 by Tomàs Peire Serrate). Composers with already published works or who prefer not to participate in open access publishing will still be eligible to apply and be considered for Kaleidoscope’s 2020-2021 season.

application instructions

Application Form


The FAQ offers details about submission guidelines, selection, and more!