OMEA Young Composers Initiative 2022 Composition Competition 

The newly founded Ohio Young Composers Initiative was created to encourage, foster, and promote musical creativity across Ohio’s young music students. The founding board members are all professional composers appointed to high level collegiate music programs in the state:

Dr. Marc Ainger (Ohio State University), Dr. Douglas Knehans (Cincinnati College Conservatory of Music), Dr. Robert McClure, chair (Ohio University), Dr. Jennifer Merkowitz (Otterbein University), Dr. Marilyn Shrude (Bowling Green State University), Dr. Jonathan Sokol (Baldwin-Wallace), and Dr. Aurie Hsu (Oberlin Conservatory).

This year’s performing ensemble is the Diverge Trio (flute, oboe, piano) from Bowling Green State University.

Diverge Trio is a chamber group consisting of flute (Claudia Aizaga Chavez), oboe (David Munro), and piano (Sandra Coursey). Formed in 2020, the trio was selected to perform at Mississippi Women’s University’s “Women in Music Festival 2021.” Diverge Trio is dedicated to performing new music, with all members currently in the doctoral program in contemporary music at Bowling Green State University.

The board members will serve as judges for the 2022 Composition Competition and will mentor the winning composer(s) through Virtual lessons in preparation for performance of the selected compositions at the 2022 OMEA Conference in Cleveland, OH.

The details of 2022 Composition Competition are below:

The Competition is only open to students who meet the following criteria:
(1) Ohio Resident
(2) Sponsored by an OMEA member
(3) Between the Ages of 13-20

Composition Guidelines
1. The submitted composition must be written for flute, oboe, and piano or any duo combination between the three instruments.
2. Compositions of any style or aesthetic direction will be accepted.
3. The submitted composition’s duration should be between 3-10 minutes.
4. Each student may only submit ONE composition to the competition.

Submission Materials
Primary Music Teacher/Instructor
OMEA Sponsoring Member and Contact
Title of Piece

2. REQUIRED: Submitted Composition in PDF format. It is suggested that students use a notation program (Finale, Sibelius, MuseScore, etc) to engrave their work. However, scans of legible handwritten scores in pdf format will still be accepted.

3. REQUIRED: Recording in .mp3 format. MIDI realizations will be accepted (however, please send MIDI realizations in .mp3 format as well).

Students will apply through their OMEA Sponsor. OMEA Sponsors can log into the OMEA Member portal to upload the student’s materials.

The board members will select the winning composition(s). Each composer will have two lessons with selected board member composers on their work as they prepare the piece for performance by the Diverge Trio at the 2022 OMEA Conference.

DEADLINE for SUBMISSION: September 15, 2021.

Any questions can be directed to Dr. Robert McClure (