2020–21 International Call for Scores

APPLICATION DEADLINE: DECEMBER 1st, 2020 at 11:59PM US Eastern Time

OSSIA New Music, the student-run new music organization at the Eastman School of Music, is pleased to announce a call for scores for our 2020–2021 International Composition Prize. The prize-winning work will be presented by Eastman student performers on the final concert of OSSIA New Music’s 2020–2021 season, TBD April/May 2021.

Composers age 35 and under, as of July 1st, 2021, of all nationalities, are encouraged to apply. There is no entry fee, and works may have been previously performed (detailed guidelines below). Current Eastman students, alumni of Eastman’s Composition Program, and composers who have been full-time composition faculty at a college or university for more than three years are ineligible to apply.

The submitted compositions should be scored for a chamber ensemble (detailed guidelines below). OSSIA invites the submission of works involving unusual performative demands; composers are encouraged to view our current season program (http://ossianewmusic.org/current-season/).

A panel consisting of members of OSSIA New Music will evaluate the pieces and choose the winning entry. All applications must be completed and received by DECEMBER 1st, 2020. The winning entry will be announced by FEBRUARY 1st, 2021.


The submitted work should be 5–12 minutes in duration.

The number of performers should be 3–8 players, with some exceptions. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, we ask that you limit the total number of wind instruments to 4. Additionally, if writing for a vocalist, the total number of performers must be constrained to 5. The use of electronics (i.e. audio playback or live processing) with instruments is acceptable. If submitting a work with electronics, please provide documentation describing how processing and diffusion needs to be done.

The following instruments are available:

Flute (Piccolo, C, Alto, Bass) (2)
Oboe/English horn (2)
Clarinet [E-flat, B-flat, A, Bass, Contrabass] (2)
Saxophone [Soprano, Alto, Tenor, Baritone] (2)
Bassoon/Contrabassoon (2)
Horn (2)
Trumpet (2)
Tenor/Bass Trombone (2)

Euphonium (1)

Tuba (1)

Percussion; please see appendix for available instruments (up to 2 percussionists)

Harp (1)

Guitar (2)

Piano (1)

Keyboard synthesizer/Harpsichord/Celesta (1)

Voice [Soprano, Mezzo-Soprano, Tenor, Baritone, Bass] (1)
Violin (2)
Viola (2)
Cello (2)
Contrabass (4 string, 5 string) (1)


  • Works should be between 5–12 minutes in duration.
  • Works of any style, aesthetic, and notation will be considered.
  • Only one entry per composer.
  • Submissions may have been performed previously, but pieces that have been performed and/or recorded by a non-university professional ensemble as part of their public mainstage season should not be submitted.
  • Previous winners of the OSSIA Call for Scores are ineligible.
  • No information that indicates or suggests the name or affiliation of the composer can appear anywhere on the score or recording of submitted work.
  • Scores and recordings should be uploaded to a cloud sharing service such as Dropbox or Google Drive and links should be provided on the entry form.
  • A $750 honorarium will be awarded to the winner.


The submission process is entirely online. Please follow the directions below to ensure that your application is successfully received. If you have any questions about the submission process or our rules and guidelines please email info@ossianewmusic.org

  1. Prepare an anonymous PDF score (with filename format TITLE_OSSIA.pdf) and, optionally, an anonymous MP3 recording (with matching filename format TITLE_OSSIA.mp3) of your work. All indications of the composer’s identity, affiliation, or performing ensemble must be removed. Recordings are strongly encouraged, though submissions without recordings will be accepted.
  2. Upload the score and recording to an online file sharing service (Dropbox, Google Drive, etc.)
  3. Prepare a 200-word biography to be pasted into submission form. (Biographies will be used when announcing the winning composer and will not be visible to the selection committee).
  4. Submissions will be handled by a third party to ensure anonymity. For questions and information, please write to info@ossianewmusic.org
  5. Submit your information and materials here: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdAZiGXdKIGZPnUT7nZi3sMCvYTxgNe4cviF6BRaTAKZ9qcAg/viewform?usp=sf_link



Percussion instruments available*:

1 Vibraphone, 1 Marimba (5.0, 4.3), 2 Glockenspiel, Timpani (32, 29, 26, 23), 4 Snare drum, 1 Bass drum, 4 Cymbals, 3 Wood blocks, 4 Triangle, Bongo (2 sets), 3 Congas, 4 Tambourine, 1 Xylophone, Almglocken, 2 Shakers, Claves (2 sets), 4 Maracas (2 pairs), 1 Guiro, 1 Rain stick, 1 Ratchet, 2 Anvil, 3 Glass bottles, Crotales (2 octaves), 2 Cowbell, 1 Chimes, 1 Tam-tam, 3 Thai gongs

*Percussion instrumentation that veers outside this list will be subject to consideration by the OSSIA New Music Board.