Call for Scores!

Following the successful 2018 and 2019 editions, we decided to launch the 2020 edition of the Call for Piano Works to promote the creation of new works and foster creativity despite the current pandemic.

This Call is open to composers and performers of any age and nationality – that own piano recordings of their works. The works of the winning composers will be featured (at no extra cost) in the new album “Modern Music for Piano 3″ that will be produced by RMN Classical specifically to promote new music and new composers and performers.

The album will be distributed on a high-quality edition on numerous platforms and outlets around the world (including Apple Music, Amazon Music, Spotify, Pandora, Deezer and many others) and promoted on various news network in North America and the UK/EU. Optionally and based on demand, there will be the possibility for a limited edition CD with physical distribution. The release and the winning works will also be added to the Sound and Music Archive of the British Library. We continuously try to create more opportunities, and these will be extended to all the winning composers and tracks in our catalogue.


The prize will include:

  • production of the release
  • design of the cover artwork
  • design of promotional material
  • creation of the album press release
  • and preparation of the promotional text
  • essential promotion including press release distribution and social media boost (check our catalogue for an overview of our editorial style)
  • Share of the sales of the album
  • The composer keeps the rights of the work and master recording
  • Commercial release with worldwide distribution
  • Rights management and royalties collection
  • British Library, Sound and Music Archive registration
  • Creation of official album page and composer page on RMN Classical

In addition, all the following will also be included:

  • Option for synchronisation and licensing opportunities (tv and media)
  • Option for physical limited edition distribution and manufacturing (depending on demand)
  • Licensing and Copyright Clearance
  • Full contracts and agreements with the winning composers and artists
  • Barcodes and ISRC codes
  • Chart registration (US, UK e Canada)


Application is via the Application Form. Simply click on APPLY NOW button at bottom page.

We kindly ask you to read the guidelines and prepare the material before applying.

ACCEPTED WORKS: Works for Piano only.
– For this call we can only accept works for piano solo.
– Both Live and Studio recordings are accepted.
– VST/Computer generated tracks are accepted as well.
– Works that include electronics are accepted.
– Works for Duo, Trio (chamber music) etc. (e.g. piano and flute) won’t be accepted.
– Works that include voice or percussions can’t be accepted. Only works for piano solo, please.

If in doubt, please Contact Us.

There is no maximum duration.
We recommend you submit short and medium-length tracks.

– Contemporary music for piano solo is preferred.
– Music with jazz, pop, or other influences can be submitted.
– Piano duos or 4 (or more) hands are accepted.
– Other combinations of duo and trio with piano (e.g. violin and piano, cello and piano) will not be accepted.

Multi-movement works can be submitted and will count as 1 work.
A three-movement sonata will count as 1 work. Please note that sometimes to showcase more composers and performers we may select and feature only a single movement from your work.

NOTE: Collection of works will not count as 1 work and application fee should be paid accordingly.

E.g. a collection of 3 works will count as 3 works and application fee should be paid three times or submission will be disqualified. You will have the opportunity to indicate the number of works during the application process.

There are no formal restrictions, and anyone regardless of age and country of residency can participate (minimum legal age of 18 required – if you are underage please get in touch before applying)

There is no limit to the number of recordings that you can submit. Please note that we will tend to select only one work per composer. In some circumstances, we can decide to select more than one work (depending on the quality of works and talent(s))

EARLY BIRD [Ends 27 September 2020 at 11:59 pm (BST)]: £38 – per work submitted
FULL PRICE [Ends 25 October 2020 at 11:59 pm (BST)]: £69 – per work submitted

The application fee will be the only cost for the participant. No other fees or costs will be due if the composer is selected.

A link to a folder containing the following material. The link should stay active for the whole duration of the Call and until the winners are announced. Accepted systems are Dropbox, Box, and other similar service. Please avoid Google Drive, WeTransfer, Soundcloud. Submissions that use Google Drive, WeTransfer, Soundcloud will get disqualified and the application fee won’t be refunded.

Please make sure your folder contains the following Required Material:
– Recording of your work + Score
– Notes about the work
– Composer’s biography + one promotional photo (portrait orientation possibly)
– Notes about performers (optional)

Applications that don’t meet the above required material will be disqualified, and the application fee won’t be refunded.

Apply Now