Hear the Concert

Saturday, June 15 @ 7:30 pm
MacPhail Center for Music, Antonello Hall, Minneapolis
Seating is limited – please reserve your seat(s)

The Minneapolis Guitar Quartet, hailed by Classical Guitar Magazine as “Flawless, musical and witty, this quartet is able to do anything it sets its mind on,” partners with the American Composers Forum to present three works by the winners of the 2019 ACF Showcase national competition. Composers Clarice Assad (Chicago, IL), Paul Brantley (New York, NY), and Aubrie Powell (Albuquerque, NM) will be in residence, working with the Minneapolis Guitar Quartet during rehearsals June 13th and 14th. The 2019 ACF Showcase Concert will take place Saturday, June 15, 2019 at Antonello Hall in the MacPhail Center for Music (501 S 2nd Street Minneapolis, MN 55401). Doors open at 6:45 PM, and the concert starts at 7:30 PM. The Minneapolis Guitar Quartet will perform D.A.N.Z.A (2015) by Clarice Assad, The Colored Horses (2015) by Aubrie Powell, Cauda Pavonis (2018) by Paul Brantley, Windy by Astor Piazzolla, Proseta se Jovka Kumanovka arranged by Maja Radovanlija, Macedonian Girl by Jonče Hristovski arranged by Maja Radovanlija, Old Castle, by the river, in the middle of a forest by Hiromi Uehara, and Cuatro Estampas Andaluzas by Joaquin Rodrigo.

2019 ACF Showcase Participants with the Minneapolis Guitar Quartet 

Clarice Assad
Clarice Assad
Paul Brantley
Paul Brantley
Aubrie Powell
Aubrie Powell


  • Entries must be submitted electronically via the link below on or before 11:59 pm Central on Monday, January 7, 2019.
    • Entries submitted by mail or means other than electronically will not be eligible for consideration.
  • The three pieces selected for the performance will be announced by April 1, 2019.
  • Rehearsals and the performance of the pieces will occur on June 13-16, 2019, in Minneapolis, MN. (Travel Days June 13 & 16, 2019)
    • The composers of the pieces will be expected to be in attendance.
    • Each will receive hotel stay in Saint Paul, domestic travel to Minneapolis/Saint Paul, and $204.00 total to cover meals during the four days of travel/rehearsals/performance of their work June 13-16, 2019 (Travel Days June 13 & 16, 2019) in Minneapolis/Saint Paul, MN.

 Who May Enter:

  • The American Composers Forum encourages applicants from the full range of musical styles and is committed to supporting a diverse pool of artists whose work demonstrates strong artistic merit.
  • Applicants can be of any age and nationality, but must be residing in the United States at the time of the June 13-16, 2019 rehearsals and performance.
  • Employees and board members of the American Composers Forum may not enter the competition; and members of Minneapolis Guitar Quartet are not eligible to enter.
  • You do not have to be a member of the American Composers Forum to enter this contest.


  • Each applicant is limited to one submission.
  • There is no fee to enter the competition.
  • Pieces should be no longer than 18 minutes in length.
  • The piece can be newly-composed (a premiere) or it can have received prior performances.
  • If the piece has been performed, it can have received any number of performances.

The Minneapolis Guitar Quartet is made up of four six-string classical guitars (nylon strings) with the possibility of substituting in one eight-string guitar.

Composers should refer to the “Minneapolis Guitar Quartet Instrument and Style Guide” below for specific performance information for the musicians.

  • The piece must be scored for the complete quartet (no solos, duos, or trios).
  • In addition to the demographic information requested, each applicant will be asked to submit:
    • A pdf (up to 10 MB) of the full score of the piece.
    • One pdf (up to 10 MB) that includes all individual parts for the piece.
    • If available, an mp3 recording (up to 30 MB) of the same piece, or video footage (up to 60 MB).
    • Proof of public domain or publisher’s/author’s written permission for use of the text if used.

Minneapolis Guitar Quartet Instrument and Style Guide

Instrumentation:  The Minneapolis Guitar Quartet is made up of four six-string classical guitars (nylon strings) with the possibility of substituting in one eight-string guitar.

Tuning:  Tuning should be standard or close to standard. The eight-string guitar may go as low as A (one octave below the open 5th string). The 7th string should be tuned to D and the 8th string tuning is flexible.

Required Notation Guidelines

  • Provide electronic PDF files for scores and all parts.
  • Scores and parts should be formatted for standard 8.5” x 11” paper
  • Provide measure numbers in scores and parts

Recommended Notation Guidelines

  • Provide Finale or Sibelius files for scores and parts
  • Beam sixteenth notes and rests by the beat

Harmonics: For harmonic pitches, indicate the sounding pitch. 8va may be used.

Percussion: Offer as much detail as possible about where and how percussive sounds are to be achieved.

Application Deadline, Award, and Information:

  • Applications must be submitted electronically on or before 11:59 pm Central on Monday, January 7, 2019. Late applications will not be considered.
  • All performance, copyright, and royalty rights of the selected pieces remain with the composer.
  • The decision of the contest jury will be final.
  • The finalists will be announced by April 1, 2019.
    • The announcement will be posted on the website of the American Composers Forum and each applicant will receive an email announcing the decision.


2018 ACF Showcase Participants with Jelloslave aka Purple Orange

Robin Holcomb
Robin Holcomb
Larry McDonough
Larry McDonough
Harriet Steinke
Harriet Steinke

2017 ACF Showcase Participants with the

ANCIA Saxophone Quartet 

Robert Lemay
Robert Lemay
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Robin McLaughlin
Robin McLaughlin
Essex Junction, VT
Steven Snowden
Steven Snowden
Jamaica Plain, MA