Loading Events

« All Events

2021 NEA Jazz Masters Tribute Concert

April 22 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm CDT

The National Endowment for the Arts, in collaboration with SFJAZZ, will host a special free online-only concert in honor of the 2021 NEA Jazz Masters—Terri Lyne CarringtonAlbert “Tootie” HeathHenry Threadgill and Phil Schaap. 2017 NEA Jazz Master Dee Dee Bridgewater and actor Delroy Lindo will co-host this event, featuring recorded performances and tributes by acclaimed jazz musicians from all over the world including from iconic venues like Preservation Hall in New Orleans, and The Village Vanguard in New York.

With music director Miguel Zenón, the concert will include performances by NEA Jazz Masters Wynton Marsalis and Jason Marsalis (2011) and Dianne Reeves (2018), as well as Obed CalvaireAvishai CohenRoman FiliuVince GiordanoChristopher HoffmanJoe LovanoPedrito MartinezLinda May Han OhDan NimmerDanilo PérezDavid VirellesLizz Wright, and the SFJAZZ High School All Stars.

The event will also include video testimonials from NEA Jazz Masters Herbie Hancock (2004), Charles Lloyd (2015), and Wayne Shorter (1998), as well as Jon FaddisMichelle KinneyJason Moran, and James Mtume.

HOW TO WATCH

The 2021 NEA Jazz Masters Tribute Concert will broadcast on Thursday, April 22 at 7pm CT|  5pm PT | 8pm ET from arts.gov and SFJAZZ.org,as well as the websites for All About Jazz and Jazz Near You, Berklee College of Music, BMI, The Carr Center, Jazz at Lincoln Center, Jazz Institute of Chicago, Jazz Journalists Association, JazzTimes, KKJZ, National Endowment for the Humanities,NPR Music, Smithsonian Jazz, Voice of America’s Khmer and Chinese services, WBGO, WDCB, and WRTI. The concert will also be available via radio broadcast on SiriusXM Channel 67, Real Jazz, in California on KCSM 91.1FM, and in Washington, DC on WPFW 89.3 FM.

To learn more, visit their website.