Want to add your own listing?  fill out this form.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

SFCMP in the COMMUNITY series. Sound Encounters

May 23 @ 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm CDT

This year’s in the COMMUNITY series concert features two works that are fully electronic and audio-visual in concept – a piece by Finnish composer Maija Hynninen, with a new video accompaniment by film artist Olivia Ting, and a newly expanded work by California-based composer Jon Kulpa, who’s developed both the audio and visual aspects of the piece. Joining to create a live performance element as counterpoint, is none other than the incomparable Andy Meyerson – artistic director, and one member of the powerhouse duo that is The Living Earth Show, based in San Francisco. Andy gives a highly personal stamp on two great works for single percussion instruments, James Tenney’s piece for solo tam-tam, on having never written a note for percussion, and Amadeus Regucera’s IMY/ILY for solo bass drum. This concert is the first in a collaborative effort that’s all about exploring and stretching the boundaries of sound creation.

Date & Time: Sunday, May 23, 2021 at 5 PM CT | 3 PM PT

Register and get tickets here.

Details

Date:
May 23
Time:
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm CDT
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , , , ,
View Event Website