Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Lunchtime Concert Series – Autumn 2020 features black composers

October 14, 2020 @ 7:00 am - 8:00 am CDT

The University of Liverpool presents some of their very best instrumental tutors performing an exciting range of repertoire in our flagship SSL Studio. The concerts also showcase the continuation and creativity of their partnerships with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and the Solem Quartet. In celebration of Black History Month this October you can also find works by Black composers running right throughout the Series.

All concerts start at 7am CDT / 1pm in London, UK  and last appropriately 35 minutes. They are FREE to watch and there’s no need to pre-register. The University of Liverpool Lunchtime Concerts will be available to view on the following platforms:

  1. Department of Music website
  2. Facebook
  3. YouTube


14 October: University of Liverpool Instrumental Teachers Lockdown Band

Jump aboard Strayhorn’s Take the A Train and cool down with Water from An Ancient Well by Abdullah Ibrahim (fka Dollar Brand) in this set of jazz classics.

Abdullah Ibrahim – Water from An Ancient Well, Herbie Hancock – Watermelon Man, Billy Strayhorn – Take the A Train, Theolonius Monk – Blue Monk, Blue Mitchell – Fungii Mama

21 October: Members of the 18th Sinfonia

Igantius Sancho was an 18th century composer and social reformer and the first person of African descent to vote in a British general election. These short, characterful dances are performed on Baroque violin, cello and harpsichord.

Igantius Sancho – Minuets etc

28 October: Tom Kimmance (piano)

Lucien Lambert (snr) came from a family dynasty of fine musicians. Born as a free person of colour in New Orleans in the late 19th century he emigrated to France, then Brazil. This Grand Valse is a sparkling, Romantic work.

Lucien Lambert (snr) – Bresiliana: Grand Valse Brilliante

25 November: Mandy Burvill (clarinet)

Hailstork is an internationally renowned American composer and Professor of Music at Old Dominion University in Norfolk, VA. Smiles for Tracey humorously explores the range of the clarinet.

Adolphus Hailstork (a BandQuest composer) – Smile for Tracey (no.3)

9 December: Solem Quartet

Florence Price was the first noted African American female composer to gain national status. Recently, much of her music was rediscovered in an abandoned house that was once her home. A Summer Moon is an arrangement of a piano piece Price composed for her pupil the singer, jazz pianist, and social activist, Memry Midgett.

Florence Price – A Summer Moon

If you would like to join our Music Events mailing list or have further questions about the Series please email helen.thomas@liverpool.ac.uk.