Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Pianist Sarah Cahill performs The Future is Female at Mills College

October 30, 2021 @ 10:00 pm - 11:30 pm CDT

On Saturday, October 30, 2021 at 10 PM CT | 8 PM PT, pianist Sarah Cahill will perform an evening-length program with selections from her project The Future is Female. Presented by the Mills College Music Department and Center for Contemporary Music’s Mills Music Now series, Cahill’s repertoire focuses on composers who have been students or teachers at Mills College.

Elinor Armer (b. 1939): Thaw (1975)

Maggi Payne (b. 1945): Holding Pattern (2001)

Janice Giteck (b. 1946): Tara’s Love Will Melt the Sword (2002)

Pauline Oliveros (1932-2016): Quintuplets Play Pen (2001)

Theresa Wong (b. 1976): She Dances Naked Under Palm Trees (2019)

Mary Watkins (b. 1939): Summer Days (2020)

Meredith Monk (b. 1942): St. Petersburg Waltz (1997) Betsy Jolas (b. 1926): Tango Si (1984)

Annea Lockwood (b. 1939): RCSC (2020)

This is both an in-person and virtual event.

Tickets and more information available soon.

Sarah Cahill, hailed as “a sterling pianist and an intrepid illuminator of the classical avant-garde” by The New York Times and “a brilliant and charismatic advocate for modern and contemporary composers” by Time Out New York, has commissioned and premiered over sixty compositions for solo piano. Composers who have dedicated works to Cahill include John Adams, Terry Riley, Frederic Rzewski, Pauline Oliveros, Julia Wolfe, Yoko Ono, Annea Lockwood, and Ingram Marshall. Keyboard Magazine writes, “Through her inspired interpretation of works across the 20th and 21st centuries, Cahill has been instrumental in bringing to life the music of many of our greatest living composers.” She was named a 2018 Champion of New Music, awarded by the American Composers Forum (ACF).